Rip Curl E-Pro Online Surf Contest Opened Up To 48 Surfers

Due to overwhelming demand, The Rip Curl E-Pro online surf event South Africa has opened up from 32 surfers to 48 surfers. The tournament is the second in a virtual global series – the Surf Web Series - that culminates with a global final. Should we not get the required 48 surfers, event organisers will decide on a suitable contest format according to the number of entries

The Rip Curl E-Pro has an R10,000 first prize and an R5,000 runner-up prize. Red Bull has also stepped in to reward our surfers, and there is an R10,000 Red Bull Best Tube Ride award specialty prize. It is up to surfers to work with videographers, and share their prizemoney. 

Oakley has put up R10,000 worth of eyewear as prizes, and the top male surfer and the top female surfer, along with their respective videographers, will each receive a pair of Oakley Sunglasses.

Along with the original list of surfers entered, some fresh names on the list include Shane Sykes, Koby Oberholzer, Simo Mkize, Scott Venter, Mitch Du Preez, Gavin Roberts, Karl Steen Luke Thompson, Nate Plomaritis and Zoé Steyn.